Home > Resources for > Alumni


Alane ALVAREZ DE RIVERA (B.S., CEGEOS ’96) has published a children’s book, “Rocks, Jeans, and Busy Machines,” the first in a series of storybooks designed to help children understand what engineers do and encourage an interest in engineering fields.

Rocks, Jeans, and Busy Machines

Eric BAUMGARTNER (B.S., AME ’88; Ph.D., AME '93)) has accepted a position as vice president of academics at the Milwaukee School of Engineering. He will assume his post on July 1, 2017. Baumgartner had most recently served as dean of the T.J. Smull of Engineering at Ohio Northern University since 2006. Prior to that he was a senior member of the engineering staff at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif.

John BRUNO (B.S., AME ’63) owns and operates Oak Summit Vineyard in upstate N.Y. He ran his family restaurant for 33 years and then “retired” to start the vineyard. He says the thermodynamic properties of compressible fluid flow come in handy when vinifying batches of his award-winning Pinot Noir.

John Bruno

Mark Comerford

Mark COMERFORD (B.S., MET ’84) currently serves and president and chief executive officer of Haynes International, a leading developer, manufacturer, and marketer of technologically advanced, high-performance alloys, primarily for use in the aerospace, land-based gas turbine, and chemical processing markets.

Michael DAHL (B.S., EE ’85) was appointed head of Vehicle Safety and Regulatory Compliance by FCA US LLC. Prior to this appointment, he held the position of director of Gasoline/Diesel Engine programs and Global Powertrain Coordination. He joined the company in 1985 as part of the Chrysler Institute of Engineering program.

John P. "Jack" DEVER (Ph.D., CBE ’85) has been appointed chief technology officer and executive vice president of Mid-Atlantic Technology, Research & Innovation Center (MATRIC). He will also serve on MATRIC's board of directors. Prior joining to MATRIC, Jack held technology and management roles at Union Carbide and Dow Chemical.

Dominic Fahey (B.S., CSE ’99) has been named senior vice president of strategy and corporate development for the North American Title Group, LLC. (NATG). He is returning to the NATG after recently serving as vice president, state agency manager for another national title company.

Kevin A. FORD (B.S., AME ’82) served as pilot on the Space Shuttle Discovery Mission STS-128 that launched on August 28, 2009. He carried a jacket of the book “Aeronautics to Aerospace at the University of Notre Dame,” written by faculty members Thomas J. Mueller and Robert C. Nelson, with him on the 13-day flight.

Kevin Ford

Colonel Michael T. Good

Colonel Michael T. GOOD (B.S., AME '92) served as mission specialist on the Space Shuttle Atlantis Mission STS-125, which lifted off on May 11, 2009.  Good carried a Notre Dame pennant with him on the flight. His second shuttle mission, also aboard the Atlantis as a mission specialist, lifted off on May 14, 2010.

Neil IVORY (B.S., CBE ’74) was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award of the AES Electrophoresis Society at the society's annual meeting held in Salt Lake City, Nov. 9-12, 2015. He is currently the Paul Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor at Washington State University. The award recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the fields of electrophoresis, electrokinetics, and related areas.

Jason KEITH (Ph.D., CBE ’01) has been named interim dean of Bagley College of Engineering at Mississippi State University. He had most recently served as MSU's Swalm School of Chemical Engineering director. He had also been serving as the director of the MSU Energy Institute. Since joining the MSU faculty he has been active in developing innovative teaching methods in engineering, which have been honored by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Prior to joining the Bagley College, Keith spent 11 years on the faculty at Michigan Technological University.

Scott KRISCOVICH (B.S., EE ’88) was named president of TrueBridge Resources, a national professional staffing company based in Atlanta, Ga.

Joseph P. Lacher Jr. (B.S., AME ’91) joined Kemper Corporation as president, chief executive officer, and a member of the Kemper Board of Directors. He previously served in several senior executive roles in the insurance industry including Allstate Protection and Travelers Companies.

Stainless Steel for Design, Michael McGuire

An adjunct professor at Carnegie Mellon University and consultant with extensive steel industry experience, Michael MCGUIRE's (B.S., AME ’89)  book, "Stainless Steel for Design Engineers," has been published by ASM International.

GE has appointed Danielle MERFELD (B.S., EE ’94), vice president, Niskayuna Technology Center, and technical director of electrical technologies and systems. She joined GE in 1999 and has held technology leadership roles in GE Global Research and GE Power.

Adrienne MINERICK (M.S., Ph.D., CBE ’03) received the Distinguished Service Award of the AES Electrophoresis Society at the society's annual meeting held in Salt Lake City, Nov. 9-12, 2015. Minerick is a professor of chemical engineering, adjunct professor of biomedical engineering, and associate dean for research and innovation at Michigan Tech.

Stephen POWER (B.S., EE ’83) was recognized by Cambridge Who’s Who for his dedication, leadership, and excellence in all aspects of travel services. Power is the chief executive officer of Business Travel Systems ASIA, Inc.

Stephen Power

Cheryl B. SCHRADER (M.S., EE ’87; PH.D., EE ’91), currently serves as chancellor of Missouri University of Science and Technology. Passionate about STEM education, her research interests focus on developing and assessing innovative learning methods for students of all ages. She has served as Missouri S&T chancellor since 2012. Prior to that she was associate vice president for strategic research initiatives at Boise State University.

Michael TRELA (B.S., AME ’04), vice president of satellite systems at Skybox Imaging of Belmont, Calif., has been awarded the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 2014 Space Systems Award. He was honored for his “leadership and the Skybox Satellite Team for the innovative development of a low-cost high-performance earth imaging satellite.” Before joining Skybox, Trela was a space systems engineer at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, worked on NASA’s MErcury Surface, Space ENvironment, GEochemistry, and Ranging (MESSENGER) probe as the in-flight propulsion engineer, and also served as the in-flight fault protection lead on NASA’s Solar TErrestrial RElations Observatory (STEREO) project.

John-David YODER (B.S., AME ’91; M.S., AME '94; and Ph.D., ME '96) has been named the dean of the T.J. Smull College of Engineering at Ohio Northern University, effective June 19, 2017. He joined the ONU faculty in 2001 and is currently serving as professor and chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Keep in Touch