Home > News > In The News Archives

In The News Archives

Paul Bohn Named 2012 Spectroscopy Fellow

Posted on May 9, 2012

Paul W. Bohn, the Arthur J. Schmitt Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, director of the Advanced Diagnostics and Therapeutics initiative and professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame, has been named a fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (SAS).

ND Alum Named Dean of Auburn's Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Posted on April 24, 2012

Notre Dame alum Christopher B. Roberts, the current department chair and the George E. and Dorothy Stafford Uthlaut Professor of Chemical Engineering in Auburn University's Samuel Ginn College of Engineering, has been named dean of the college effective July 1, 2012.

Brennecke Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Posted on February 10, 2012

Brennecke Elected to National Academy of Engineering.

Graduate student Paluch wins AIChE award

Posted on November 9, 2011

Andrew Paluch, a graduate student in Ed Maginn's group, won the 2011 outstanding graduate student award from the Computational Molecular Science and Engineering Forum (CoMSEF) of the AIChE.

Four CBE faculty elected Fellows of AAAS

Posted on February 10, 2011

Profs. Brennecke, Kamat, Maginn and Schneider were all elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in honor of their distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

DOE Lawrence Award Ceremony for Professor Brennecke

Posted on May 7, 2010

Professor Joan Brennecke received the prestigious Lawrence Award from the Department of Energy for "her seminal work in advancing fundamental understanding of supercritical fluids and ionic liquids and her scientific and technological leadership in discovering new environmentally-benign, green chemistries."

Maginn becomes a trustee of the CAChE Corporation

Posted on January 20, 2010

Prof. Edward Maginn was elected to the board of trustees of the CAChE (Computers Aids for Chemical Engineering) Corporation.

Prof. Edward Maginn wins inaugural CoMSEF award

Posted on November 10, 2009

Edward Maginn is the recipient of the inaugural American Institute of Chemical Engineers CoMSEF (Computational Molecular Science and Engineering Forum) award for outstanding research.

Grad Student Wins Three Awards

Posted on December 1, 2008

Graduate student Rachel Getman is recognized for her research accomplishments.

Graduate students win Kaneb teaching awards

Posted on May 15, 2008

Graduate students Joshua Enszer, Zachary Gagnon, and Luke Simoni were recipients of Kaneb Center Graduate Student Teaching Awards this year.

Senior Christine Loza receives NSF Graduate fellowship

Posted on April 3, 2008

CBE senior Christine Loza has been awarded a prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship...

ND Alum Honored as "Hero of Chemistry"

Posted on September 25, 2007

University of Notre Dame alumnus Thomas F. Degnan, Jr. has been honored as a “Hero of Chemistry” by the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Research on CO2 Capture Featured in Science

Posted on July 16, 2007

Research being carried out by Profs. Maginn, Brennecke, and Schneider was highlighted in a recent article in Science.

Zilin Chen appointed Luojia Professor

Posted on May 10, 2007

Dr. Zilin Chen, a research professor in Professor Chia Chang's group, was appointed the Luojia Professor at Wuhan University, China.

Shramik Sengupta accepts position at University of Missouri at Columbia

Posted on May 24, 2007

Dr. Shramik Sengupta accepted a position as assistant professor in Bioengineering at the University of Missouri at Columbia.

Brennecke wins John M. Prausnitz Award

Posted on May 24, 2007

Prof. Joan Brennecke gave the John M. Prausnitz Award Lecture at the 11th International Conference...

Manish Kelkar wins CRC award

Posted on April 3, 2007

Graduate student Manish Kelkar has won the 2007 Center for Research Computing Award for Computational Sciences and Visualization...

Former student Dmitry Kopelevich wins CAREER award

Posted on April 3, 2007

Former Notre Dame PhD student Dmitry Kopelevich has won an NSF CAREER award...

Graduate students win teaching awards

Posted on April 27, 2007

Graduate students Jessica Anderson, Diana Hou and Kate Wilbanks were recipients of Graduate Student Teaching Awards this year.

Professor Paul W. Bohn receives Army Award

Posted on March 15, 2007

Arthur J. Schmitt Professor Paul W. Bohn has received the 2006 Research, Development, or Operational Team Award from the US Army Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (CERL).

Adrienne Minerick, '03 PhD, receives CAREER Award

Posted on February 25, 2007

Adrienne R. Minerick, a 2003 PhD graduate who was advised by Professor Chia Chang, has recently received a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation.

Departmental research team awarded DOE grant

Posted on December 6, 2006

A DOE-sponsored carbon capture research project led by Profs. Maginn, Brennecke and Schneider has been awarded a grant to explore the use of ionic liquids as solvents for the post-combustion capture of carbon dioxide (CO2).

Brennecke wins 2006 Professional Progress Award!

Posted on August 14, 2006

Professor Joan F. Brennecke has won the 2006 Professional Progress Award of the AIChE for her contributions to the development of ionic liquids as separation and reaction solvents.

In the News Archives