Engineering professor and Ph.D. candidate honored with 2024 Notre Dame Graduate School awards

Bill Phillip and Ryan Posh

A faculty member and a Ph.D. candidate in Notre Dame’s College of Engineering have been honored with 2024 Notre Dame Graduate School awards for contributions to graduate education and research.

William A. Phillip, Rooney Family Collegiate Chair of Engineering and professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, is the winner of the Dick and Peggy Notebaert Award. This award honors a faculty member or administrator who has had a significant impact on graduate studies at Notre Dame.

Phillip has served as the department’s director of graduate studies since 2020. In this role, he has spearheaded a series of notable and transformative updates to his department’s doctoral program, including the creation of an orientation course for incoming students and more robust methods for doctoral students to receive feedback from their advisers.

Ryan R. Posh, Ph.D. candidate in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, is the recipient of the Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Award in Engineering. Posh works on lower-extremity prostheses, and he has focused his efforts on assisting individuals who have had amputations. His research has been published in leading academic journals and he has been recognized with multiple awards, including the National Science Foundation’s prestigious Graduate Research Fellowship.

Phillip and Posh will be formally recognized at the Graduate School Commencement Ceremony at Notre Dame Stadium on May 18.

— Karla Cruise, Notre Dame Engineering