Sixteen doctoral candidates receive outstanding teaching awards

Sixteen doctoral candidates in the College of Engineering have received the 2020 Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award. Presented annually by Notre Dame Learning, the Graduate School, and the Kaneb Center for Teaching and Learning, the award recognizes exceptional teaching in the classroom or in a teaching laboratory.

The Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award recipients from the College of Engineering for 2019-2020 are:

Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
• Bradley Ellis, advised by Sheehan Family Associate Professor Pinar Zorlutuna

• Taylor Gambon, advised by Professor James Schmiedeler and Assistant Professor Patrick Wensing

• Han Gao, advised by Assistant Professor Jian-Xun Wang

• Spencer Golze, advised by Associate Professor Svetlana Neretina

• Nick Kempf, advised by Assistant Professor Yanliang Zhang

• Carson Running, advised by Assistant Professor Thomas Juliano

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Pedro Amorim Valenca, advised by Associate Professor William Philip and Assistant Professor Jonathan K. Whitmer

• Elvis Eugene, advised by Assistant Professor Alexander Dowling

• Jessica Muhlenkamp, advised by Associate Professor Jason Hicks

Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences
• Juan Diego Pozo, advised by Professor Yahya Kurama

• David Pirchio, advised by Kevin Walsh, director of Resiliency and Sustainability of Engineering Systems and assistant teaching professor

• Kyle Rocha-Brownell, advised by Associate Professor David H. Richter

Computer Science and Engineering
• Suraj Mishra, advised by Professor Xiaobo Sharon Hu and Professor Danny Z. Chen

• Lanyu Shang, advised by Assistant Professor Dong Wang

• John Templeton, advised by Professor Christian Poellabauer

Electrical Engineering
• Varun Mannam, advised by Associate Professor Scott Howard

The award consists of a certificate from the Kaneb Center and Graduate School, a letter documenting the award for the graduate student’s file, and an honorarium.

— Nina Welding, College of Engineering