Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Log in
Home > Profiles > Alan Seabaugh

Alan Seabaugh

Alan C. Seabaugh

Frank M. Freimann Chair Professor

Department of Electrical Engineering

Frank M. Freimann Chair Professor
College of Engineering


Phone: 574-631-4473

Office: 230A Cushing Hall


Ph.D.E.E. University of Virginia, Charlottesville, 1985


Alan Seabaugh is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, Director of the SRC-NRI Midwest Institute for Nanoelectronics Discovery (MIND) and Associate Director of the Notre Dame Center for Nano Science and Technology. He received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, in 1985. Before joining the faculty at Notre Dame he held research positions at the National Bureau of Standards (1979 to 1986), Texas Instruments (1986 to 1997), and Raytheon (1997 to 1999). He has authored or coauthored more than 300 papers and over 90 invited presentations at conferences and workshops; he has 22 U.S. patents and 10 foreign patents and is an editor for the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices. He received teaching awards in 1990 from U.T. Dallas and 2001 from Notre Dame. He was elected Senior Fellow at Raytheon in 1999 and IEEE Fellow in 2003. He received the Int. Symp. on Comp. Semicon. Quantum Devices Award in 2011 for seminal contributions and leadership in semiconductor devices and circuits based on quantum mechanical tunneling.

Summary of Activities/Interests

Research Interests: Research in the Seabaugh group addresses questions of limits in electron devices and circuits. What limits device energy-efficiency, density, speed, power dissipation, ...? Are there better materials, devices, or circuit tricks to improve performance? Are there new effects we can use at the limits of miniaturization? Current research areas include tunnel field-effect transistors, memory, transport in two-dimensional materials, and lithium ion batteries.

Courses: Analog Integrated Circuits Design, Electrical Energy Extraction, Electromagnetic Fields and Waves, Electronics, Semiconductors


NDIIF Announces Two Awards — Best Imaging Publications for 2015

May 5, 2016

The Notre Dame Integrated Imaging Facility has announced two awards for the best imaging publications for calendar year 2015 - April 15, 2016.

Seabaugh Honored at Notre Dame Home Game

November 16, 2015

Alan Seabaugh, the Frank M. Freimann Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the Center for Low Energy Systems Technology, was honored at the November 14 Notre Dame home game for his efforts in engineering low-energy technologies that get the most out of computers and other electronic systems.

Record Highs for Notre Dame Research Funding

September 17, 2015

The University of Notre Dame has received $133.7 million in research funding for fiscal year 2015. This is an all-time record for the University and $20 million more than last year.

Seabaugh Named Freimann Professor

July 16, 2015

Alan C. Seabaugh, director of the SRC-STARnet Center for Low Energy Systems Technology, has been named the Frank M. Freimann Professor of Electrical Engineering.

ND Researchers Receive Grant to Develop Two-Dimensional Memory

July 17, 2014

The National Science Foundation’s “Grant Opportunities of Academic Liaison with Industry” (GOALI) program has awarded Notre Dame faculty members Susan Fullerton and Alan Seabaugh $368,000 to develop a new device that relies on the movement of ions to control electron transport in graphene—a single layer of carbon atoms