Home > Research > REU Internship Opportunities

REU Internship Opportunities

AME Research Opportunities

[ For more detailed information on each AME project listed click here]

Project : Highway Throughput Spray Coating of Membranes for Applications in Desalination and Waste Chemical Recovery

Project : Electrical Characterization of Plasma Behavior in Catalyst Systems

Project : Optical Characterization of Plasma Behavior in Catalyst Systems

Contact: Associate Professor David B. Go, 140G McCourtney Hall, 574 631-8394 (dgo@nd.edu)
Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering


Project: Custom‐Built Reaction Chambers and In Situ Monitoring Tools

Contact: Associate Professor Svetlana Neretina, 370 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-6127 (sneretina@nd.edu)
Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering


Project: Fabrication of Polymer Nanofibers with Anomalous Thermal Conductivity

Contact: Assistant Professor Tengfei Luo, 371 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-9683 (tluo@nd.edu
)
Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering


Project : Rabbit Ulnar Loading as an in vivo Model of Microdamage Accumulation and Fatigue Fracture

Project : Nanoparticle Contrast Agents for Quantitative Molecular Imaging with CT

Project: Phononic Nanoparticles for Low-Loss, Tunable Nanophotonics in the Mid- and Far-IR
(with Professor Anthony Hoffman, Department of Electrical Engineering)

Contact: Professor Ryan K. Roeder, 148 Multidisciplinary Research Building, 574 631-7003 (rroeder@nd.ed)
Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering


Project: Chemical Sensor for Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Applications

Contact: Associate Professor Hirotaka Sakaue, 106 Hessert Laboratory, 574 631-4336 (hsakaue@nd.edu)
Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

CBE Research Opportunities

Project: Engineering Multifunctional Nanoparticles for Targeted Drug Delivery in Cancer

Contact: Associate Professor Basar Bilgicer, 205C McCourtney Hall, 574 631-1429,(bbilgicer@nd.edu)
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Microporous Membrane Reactors for Antibody Digestion and Characterization

Contact: Professor Merlin Bruening • 140C McCourtney Hall • 631-3024 (mbruenin@nd.edu
)
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Nanostructured Polysulfone Polyelectrolyte Copolymer Membranes for Fuel Cells

Project: Polymer Membranes with Tunable Microporosity for Gas Separations

Contact: Professor Ruilan Guo, 205E McCourtney Hall, 574 631-3453 (rguo@nd.edu)
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Perovskite Photovoltaics

Project: Nanostructure Assemblies for Sensing Application

Contact: Professor Prashant V. Kamat, 235 Radiation Lab , 574 631-5411, (kamat.1@nd.edu)
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Fabrication of Solid State Batteries

Contact: Professor Paul McGinn, 178 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-6151 (pmcginn@nd.edu
)
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Elucidating Fundamental Transport Properties of Copolymer-derived Charge Mosaic Membranes

Contact: Assistant Professor William Phillip, 205F McCourtney Hall, 574 631-2708 (wphillip@nd.edu
)
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Polymer Electrolytes for Advanced Rechargeable Batteries

Project: Dendrite Growth in Rechargeable Lithium Metal Batteries

Contact: Assistant Professor Jennifer.L.Schaefer, 205G McCourtney Hall, 574 631-5114 (Jennifer.L.Schaefer.43@nd.edu) Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Targeting Therapeutic Nanoparticles Through Supramolecular Affinity

Project: Engineering Responsive Peptide-based Drug Nanocarriers

Contact: Assistant Professor Matthew Webber, 205B McCourtney Hall, 574 631-4246 (mwebber@nd.edu) Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Project: Eff ects of Acidity and Salinity on Polymer Drug-Delivery Complexes

Project: Performance of Functional Metal Organic Frameworks

Project: Predicting Material Elastic Responses from Molecular Simulations

Contact: Assistant Professor Jonathan Whitmer, 122A Cushing, 574 631-1417, (jwhitme1@nd.edu)
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

CSE Research Opportunities

Project: Visual Data Analytics

Contact: Associate Professor Chaoli Wang, 383 Fitzpatrick, 574 631-9212, (chaoli.wang@nd.edu)
Department of Computer Science and Engineering

CEEES Research Opportunities

Project: Organic Geochemical Reconstruction of Past Ocean Circulation

Contact: Assistant Professor Melissa Berke, 164 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-4857  (Melissa.Berke.1@nd.edu)
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences


Project: Effects of Temperature on Uranyl Peroxide Nanoclusters

Project: Effect of Cations on Uranyl Peroxide Nanocluster Solubility

Project: Calorimetric Studies on Uranyl Peroxide Nanoclusters

Contact: Professor Peter Burns, 574 631-7852 (pburns@nd.edu)
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences


Project: Reinforced Concrete Shear Walls with High-strength Rebar and High‐strength Concrete

Contact: Professor Yahya “Gino” Kurama, 156 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-8377, (Yahya.Kurama.1@nd.edu)
                Assistant Professor Ashley Thrall, 159 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-2533, (athrall@nd.edu)
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences

EE Research Opportunities

Micro-fabricated Negative-index Metamaterial Lenses for Passive Near-horizon Beam-steering

Contact: Assistant Professor Jonathan Chisum, 226A Cushing Hall, (574) 631-3915 (jchisum@nd.edu)


Steep Slope Ferroelectric Transistors

Contact: Professor Suman Datta, 271 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-8835 (sdatta@nd.edu)
Department of Electrical Engineering


Phononic Nanoparticles for Low-Loss, Tunable Nanophotonics in the Mid- and Far-IR

Contacts: Professor Anthony Hoffman, 226B Cushing Hall, 574 631-4103 (ajhoffman@nd.edu)
Department of Electrical Engineering

Professor Ryan K. Roeder, 148 Multidisciplinary Research Building, 574 631-7003 (rroeder@nd.edu
)
Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering


Noise Measurements in Nanoscale Single-Electron Devices

Contacts: Research Professor Alexei Orlov, 227 Stinson Remick Hall, 574 631-8079 (aorlov@nd.edu)
Department of Electrical Engineering


Automated Testing of Tunnel Field-effect Transistors

Contacts: Professor Alan Seabaugh, 230A Cushing Hall, 574 631-4473 (aseabaug@nd.edu)
Department of Electrical Engineering


Energy Recovery for Ultra-low Energy Computation

Contacts: Professor Gregory Snider, 275 Fitzpatrick Hall, 574 631-4148 (gsnider@nd.edu)
Department of Electrical Engineering